YouTube’s new uploader
Posted by Ross Chapman on 25 Nov 11
This week we needed to share some initial edits with a client to approve before they went live. We use YouTube to share edits because it has a really useful feature where you can “unlist” a video. This means that you can upload a video, it creates a link and you can share that with the client – but because it’s “unlisted”, it doesn’t go on YouTube as a live video. This becomes really useful when sharing edits that may need changes, or sharing internal videos. We’ve used this process to great effect when sharing videos with UK Cycling Events, and it really speeds up the edit and approval process.
Recently, YouTube have redesigned their upload process and it couldn’t have come at a better time. Yesterday morning, I had to share seven edits with a client to approve. Uploading them at the same time and selecting “unlisted” was a great time saver (and allowed me to run into the local Apple store to get a replacement power cable).
On my return, I just copied and pasted the new YouTube links to the client, which meant they could view the edits before they went live, and because it’s on YouTube, they didn’t need to download them individually or ensure they had the right software to play, so a real time-saver.
With a speedy sign-off, getting the videos live was a simple trick of ticking a tickbox and they’re ready to share with the world, or in this case, embed on to their website.
The new uploader is on YouTube, but I believe it’s only enabled on a few accounts as a beta.
Thank you YouTube, for making our lives just a little easier!